After my grim exploration of the fate of poor Joe Vuckovich–the hanged man who barely rates a sentence in our mysterious Diary–it is almost a relief to turn to something a little lighter.  Our diarist continues to live a quiet life here in Missoula as she waits, along with her mother and a young woman named Ruth who I’m reasonably sure is her sister.

“Mon. Feb. 20                  1922

Ruth washed in the evening & I fussed around as usual.  In p.m. I took a little nap & then we went down town.  To the Donahue Dollar sale & got a little Blanket for Baby & a pair of shoes for Mama.  Stopped at Mrs. A. on our way home.  Ruth had the headache all afternoon.  Got a letter from Colette & Mrs. Holcomb.

I spent the evening down stairs.”

Let’s talk a little about shoe-shopping.  Women’s shoes back then cost about $5, give or take.  So if our diarist scored a pair of shoes for $1 she got a deal!  Below is an ad for Sears Roebuck & Co. showing shoes in fashion about three years after this diary entry.

Image

I wouldn’t want to negotiate the snowy streets of Missoula in any of these, would you?  Our diarist and her family undoubtedly had galoshes in the closet of their rented house.  If you feel like a dose of 1920s fashion I found this ad at http://glamourdaze.com/2010/05/1920s-fashion-womens-dress-and-style.html.  Enjoy!

